Caribbean Territories

The Caribbean or Caribbean region is the one bathed by the Caribbean Sea, also known as the Caribbean Sea (European Portuguese) or more traditionally, by geographers, such as the Antilles Sea. According to countryaah, the Caribbean Sea bathes part of the Antilles, part of the Yucatan Peninsula, Central American countries, Colombia and Venezuela. Connects to the Gulf of Mexico via the Yucatan Canal. The Caribbean Sea has an area of ​​2.7 million km² and a maximum depth of 7.7 km, in the Cayman Fossa.

The Caribbean or Caribbean were indigenous groups that inhabited part of the region, especially the Lesser Antilles, at the time of the discoveries, hence the name.

The Antilles, with their reefs and atolls, have paradisiacal beaches with transparent waters, ideal for diving and other water sports.

Anguilla, United Kingdom

Anguilla is an island and a British overseas territory, part of the Antilles, bathed by the Atlantic Ocean, in America. In 1650, English settlers settled in Anguilla.

Anguilla is a popular tourist destination, with beautiful beaches. The total area is 91 km², which includes the island of Anguilla and some islets. There are 17 thousand residents (2017). The capital and main city is The Valley.

Netherlands Antilles

The Netherlands Antilles ceased to exist as a political unit, dependent on the Netherlands, on October 10, 2010. They were an autonomous Federation of the Netherlands, which included the islands of Bonaire, Curaçao, Saba, Saint Eustatius (Sint Eustatius) and Sint Maarten (a Dutch part of the island of São Martinho). St. Maarten and Curaçao became parts of the Kingdom of Holland, with the same status as Aruba. Bonaire, Saba and Santo Eustáquio became the Caribbean Netherlands, as special municipalities in the Netherlands.

Bonaire, Netherlands

Bonaire is a special municipality in the Netherlands and an island located in the Caribbean Sea, 80 km from northern Venezuela. The municipal seat is Kralendijk.

Bonaire was part of the former Netherlands Antilles, until 2010, when that political unity was dissolved.

The highest point is at Brandaris Hill, with 240 meters of altitude. The local population speaks Dutch and Papiamento. The currency is the US dollar. The north of the Island is home to the Washington Slagbaai National Park. Bonaire National Maritime Park encompasses 2,600 hectares of reefs.

Curacao, Netherlands

Curaçao is an island and an autonomous territory of the Kingdom of the Netherlands, located in the Caribbean, 60 km off the coast of Venezuela. There are 150 thousand residents (2017). The capital is Willemstad.

Curaçao was inhabited by the Araaks, when it was visited by the Spanish in 1499. The Dutch dominated the Island in 1634, together with Bonaire.


Granada is a country in the Antilles, composed of the Islands of Granada (Grenada), Carriacou, Petite Martinique and other small islands. There are 111 residents (2016). The capital is Saint George’s.

The island of Granada was inhabited by the Caribbean when it was discovered by Christopher Columbus in 1498. In the 17th century, the French colonized the island, calling it Saint-Georges. In 1762, the British took over the Island. Independence was achieved in 1974.

Saba, Netherlands

Saba is a volcanic island, 13 km², and a municipality in the Netherlands, in the Caribbean. The capital is The Bottom.

Mount Scenery, at 887 meters, is the highest point in the Netherlands. There are no beaches on the island, but beautiful scenery, forest trails and good diving options.

Saba was inhabited by indigenous peoples when it was spotted by Columbus in 1493. Dutch colonization began in the 17th century.

Navassa, USA

The small island of Navassa is an unincorporated territory of the United States, in the Caribbean, and administered by the Fish and Wildlife Service. It is currently an ecological sanctuary, with no resident population.

Sighted by the Spanish in 1504, Navassa Island was uninhabited in 1857, when it was claimed by the United States.

Saint-Martin, France

Saint-Martin (Collectivité de Saint-Martin) is an overseas territory of France, which occupies part of the island of Saint Martin in the Caribbean. The other part of the Island is the Dutch territory Sint Maarten. There are 36 thousand residents (2013). The capital is Marigot.

The island of São Martinho was spotted by Colombo in 1493. In the first decades of the 17th century, Spaniards, Dutch and French disputed the domain of this island. The Spaniards withdrew. In 1648, the Dutch and the French divided the island by the Treaty of Concord. In 2007, Saint-Martin, the northern part of 54 km², became a collective in France.

Saint Eustatius, Netherlands

Santo Eustáquio (Sint Eustatius) is a small island in the Caribbean and a special municipality in the Netherlands, as well as Saba, which is 26 km away. The island is about 10 km long, 5 km wide. It houses the dormant Quill volcano. There are 2.9 thousand residents (2010). The main urban center is Oranjestad.

The island of Santo Eustáquio was sighted by Columbus, and 1493. In the 17th century, it was colonized by English and Dutch. In the 18th century, it became a major merchant center. From 1816, the Dutch dominated the entire island.

Saint Barthélemy, France

São Bartolomeu is an island, an archipelago and a French community in the Antilles (Collectivité de Saint-Barthélemy). It is 25 km southeast of Sain-Martin. There are 7,200 residents (2017), about 40% are Portuguese. The capital is Gustavia.

The archipelago of São Bartolomeu is formed by the islands: São Bartolomeu, Chevreau, Coco, Fourchue, Frégate, La Tortue, Le Boulanger, Les Grenadins, Pain-de-Sucre, Pelée, Petit-Jean and Toc Vert.

The island of São Bartolomeu was discovered by Colombo in 1493, who named it after his brother Bartolomeo. It was colonized by the French from 1648. France sold the Island to Sweden in 1784, but repurchased it in 1877. In 2003, Saint Bartholomew voted to separate the Guadalupe administration.

Sint Maarten, Netherlands

Sint Maarten (approximate Dutch pronunciation: sint marten) is an overseas territory of the Netherlands, which occupies part of São Martinho Island, in the Antilles. The other part of the island is the French territory Saint-Martin. There are 42 thousand residents (2017). The capital is Philipsburg.

The island of São Martinho was spotted by Colombo in 1493. In the first decades of the 17th century, Spanish, Dutch and French disputed the domain of the island. The Spaniards withdrew. In 1648, the Dutch and French divided the Island, by the Treaty of Concord.

Sint Maarten, Netherlands